Sunday, February 7, 2010

Congratulations Emmitt...and to, uh, Everyone Else!

Congratulations to Emmitt Smith, Jerry Rice, Dick Lebeau, John Randall, Floyd Little, Ricky Jackson and Russ Grimm - the 2010 class of the NFL Hall of Fame.

Rice, who played for the San Francisco 49'ers, Oakland Raiders and Seattle Seahawks and Emmitt Smith (who played for the Dallas Cowboys and Phoenix Cardinals), enter in their first year of eligibility. You probably guessed it by now, Smith is the real reason for this post - the mention of the others is my attempt at magnanimity!

Smith is the NFL's all time leading rusher with 18,344 yards and 164 touchdowns. Rice was one of, if not the most prolific receiver in NFL history with 1,549 catches for 22,895 yards.

The seven legends will be enshrined in Canton, Ohio in the Hall of Fame game in August.

I'm going on the record for this one: Indianapolis Colts 42, New Orleans Saints 17. Sorry Saints fans!

No comments: